How Much Gluten is in Beer? [Explained]

How Much Gluten is in Beer

Beer is a popular alcoholic beverage in different parts of the world. Many people from different countries love to enjoy this drink, especially on a hot and humid day. Having a chilled can of beer will refresh your mind and soul and help you get back to work with renewed energy. However, if you are gluten intolerant, it is better to find out how much of it is in beer. Staying aware of the information can help you stay healthy for a long time.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a kind of protein found naturally in raw food products. It is mostly found in different forms of cereals, such as barley, rye, and wheat. Unfortunately, it is also the main ingredient used in manufacturing beers. You will also find gluten in daily food such as bread, cakes, pasta, and pastries.

If you suffer from gluten intolerance and have gluten-rich foods, it may cause serious health problems. Thus, it is always advisable to avoid foods that contain gluten, especially if you are gluten intolerant. You can find out the gluten content in a food item by reading its label. That should help you find out whether you should opt for alternatives.

How Much Gluten Is Actually In Beers?

There are different types of beers in the market, and barley is the primary ingredient for most of them. Thus, the presence of gluten in beers is possible. However, the gluten content in a beer varies from one type to another. It basically depends upon the amount of barley used to manufacture the beverage. Gluten content in beers may range from 63 ppm to 25,920 ppm.

  • Lager beer – 63 ppm
  • Stout beer – 361 ppm
  • Ales – 3120 ppm
  • Wheat beer – 25920 ppm

Why Does Manufacturing Beer Require Gluten?

Food grains are used to make beer through the process of fermentation. These grains contain gluten and provide the necessary amount of sugar required for fermentation. Later, yeast is added to help digest the sugar and produce alcohol.

Sometimes, brewers add additives, flavorings, and other varieties of grains to make beer. These ingredients provide different natural aromas and flavors to the beverage. Gluten may also be present in these additional ingredients. This proves that gluten content has no effect on the quality or level of alcohol.

Can Gluten Have Any Negative Effects On Your General Health?

By now, you probably know that gluten is a kind of protein that you find in grains or cereals. If you are not gluten intolerant, having some amount of gluten can provide your body with a good amount of protein. Gluten is rich in phosphorus, iron, and selenium. This low-calorie, non-meat protein is also rich in fiber and can work as a probiotic.

However, if you suffer from gluten intolerance, it is advisable to avoid it completely. This is because even a slight intake of gluten may have a negative effect on your health. Here are some gluten-related diseases or sicknesses.

1.   Celiac Disease

It is an auto-immune disease and affects more than three million Americans. Celiac Disease is a congenital metabolic disorder that starts after you have gluten. If you also suffer from Celiac Disease, having gluten will make your body produce antibodies. These antibodies will attack the inner lining of your small intestine.

If the inner lining of your small intestine gets affected, it will stop your body from absorbing essential nutrients, including iron and calcium. As a result, it will lead to various diseases, such as type 1 diabetes, anemia, and osteoporosis. Some common symptoms of Celiac Disease are nausea, fatigue, abdominal pain, and weight loss.

2.   Duhring’s Disease

If you suffer from gluten sensitivities and Celiac Disease, you may experience Duhring’s Disease. It is a condition that causes dermatitis herpetiformis or extremely itchy rashes or blisters on your skin. It starts from your back region and knees and is often wrongly interpreted as herpes.

If you suffer from Duhring’s Disease and have gluten-rich food, your intestines will respond to it by creating an IgA antibody. This antibody enters your bloodstream and causes your blood vessels to build up. The end result is the growth of skin rashes.

Can Beers Be Gluten-Free?

If you suffer from a disease related to having gluten, you may often think that you can never enjoy beer. Thankfully, you still have some hope and enjoy the alcoholic beverage. You may enjoy a gluten-free beer that can protect you from various gluten-related diseases. It is like any ordinary beer without the risk of containing gluten. In other words, it is not manufactured by using barley, wheat, or rye.

Manufacturing gluten-free beers on a large scale may be a tough job. However, there are brewers who carry out the tasks of brewing, assessing, and monitoring such beers efficiently. In addition, makers of gluten-free beers have to follow strict guidelines for labeling their products and using special terminologies.

How to Find Gluten-Free Beer?

Many people suffer from gluten intolerance. At the same time, they also love to drink chilled beers to feel refreshed after a hectic day at work. Unfortunately, having ordinary beers can make them sick. Thus, the demand for gluten-free beer is on the rise. Nonetheless, always ensure that you buy gluten-free beers after carefully reading the product label.

While reading the label, look for terms or phrases that tell you whether the protein is gluten. However, remember that the labeling standards may be different in one country from another. It will also help if you can directly contact the manufacturer of a gluten-free beer brand. This will assure you that the beer is indeed gluten-free.


Beer is one of the most favorite alcoholic drinks for millions. People love to have chilled beer after sweating it out on a hot and humid day. However, if you suffer from gluten intolerance, there is something to worry about. You can find gluten-free beers in the market that can help you avoid gluten-related diseases.

These taste like any ordinary beer but is free from gluten. In other words, these types of beer are not made from barley, rye, or wheat. With the help of gluten-free beers, gluten-intolerant beer lovers need not sacrifice their love for the beverage.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *