Drinking Age in Michigan: Everything You Need To Know

Drinking Age in Michigan

Here is everything you need to know regarding the drinking age in Michigan. This discussion is great if you’re wondering about the drinking laws in this state – Whether you have plans of visiting it in the near future or if you’re just plain curious. We will also be talking about the punishment you have to face in case you end up disobeying any of the questions listed below. 

It’s no secret that people in Michigan love their alcohol. The average college student in Michigan consumes plenty of alcohol, whether it’s during a social situation, as a way to relax, to enjoy themselves with friends, or to lessen tension after a long day of class.

A study has also revealed that during lockdowns in 2020, the average resident of Michigan had drunk at least 1000 bottles of alcohol – Meaning 18 bottles of beer per week. This is very alarming, as it exceeds everyone’s expectations of what ‘heavy drinking’ should be. So, what are the rules that the average Michigander has to follow in regard to liquor?

What is the Legal Drinking Age in Michigan? 

According to official law, the legal drinking age in Michigan is the same as the other states across America – 21 years old and above. This means that anyone below that age is technically a minor and should not be consuming, purchasing, or possessing alcohol of any kind. Meanwhile, adults also need to play their part here by not selling or allowing any minor to consume alcohol in public. 

What is the Legal Drinking Age in Michigan for Tourists and Foreigners? 

If you’re a tourist in Michigan, this means that you have to follow all of the state’s rules, including their legal drinking age of 21 and above. The 26th state doesn’t really attract loads of tourists compared to other states, such as Florida and California, but it still boasts a pretty large drinking culture, especially among university students. But if you’re already past the legal drinking age of 21, then you can check out the state’s assortment of pubs and bars that serve an ice-cold bottle of beer and your favorite bar chow. 

Do You Need an ID to Drink in Michigan?

Drinking Age in Michigan

It all depends on the establishment of your choice. Some bars around the state are quite strict when it comes to implementing ID laws. Meanwhile, other establishments will only judge you by the way you look and let you in without further judgment. To serve alcohol to a customer in a bar or nightclub, you have to make sure that they’re of legal age. Check any valid document that ensures they’re 21 and above. 

Legal Drinking Age in Michigan with Parents 

There are certain US states that allow anyone above 21 to drink alcohol in their own home and with adult supervision – But not Michigan. They are very strict in regard to minors and liquor consumption, so much so that even these young teens and kids aren’t supposed to drink liquor inside their own homes. Doing so would be considered breaking the law, and anyone in charge can face a certain punishment. 

Legal Drinking Age in Michigan by Region

As mentioned, Michigan follows the legal drinking age of 21 years old and above. This is similar to other states all over America. But if you are a legal adult, there are plenty of alcoholic beverages for you to choose from, ranging from beer to the state’s signature cocktail, the Hummer. Other Michigan-approved drinks you can try include Vernor’s Ginger Soda and Ale. 

Can Minors Drink in Michigan with Their Parents?

Parents in Michigan should be responsible and not allow their children or young teenagers to consume alcohol, even inside a private residence. Michigan is a lot more strict in regard to underage drinking, and any minor caught owning, buying, or drinking liquor is technically disobeying the law. 

Consequences of Breaking the Drinking Age Law in Michigan 

The legal BAC level in Michigan is 0.08%. You cannot operate a vehicle if your level is beyond the legal amount, and driving under the influence of alcohol in the state will result in criminal charges.  If your BAC level is at least 0.17%, this officially puts you at a ‘super-drunk’ level, and you could face some additional penalties when caught. 

Meanwhile, it’s not a crime to openly drink in Michigan – But if you create a ruckus and cause public disturbance, then the police can place you into protective custody under Section 330.1276 under the state’s Mental Health Code. 

A Summary of the Drinking Age in Michigan 

We hope you learned something regarding the drinking age in Michigan, as well as the liquor laws that you have to follow in the state. Based on the culture itself, people from Michigan are always welcome to crack open a can of beer no matter what the occasion may be. But if you want to follow in their steps, make sure not to consume much and be responsible with your actions. 

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *