Here is a discussion regarding the alcohol laws, as well as the drinking age in Texas. The Lonestar State is home to so many bars, pubs, and nightclubs that all serve delicious cold beers – And they all go well with the ultimate Texan food staple, barbecue. This topic will also be talking about the punishment and fines that you have to pay in case you do end up breaking one of those laws. If this is a thing that interests you, then feel free to keep reading.
Texas seems to have a stronger drinking culture compared to other American states. This is because of their laid-back attitude, with the environment of the state itself being a lot calmer compared to New York, Illinois, or Nevada. Oftentimes, you can find Texans sitting on the front porch of their homes, drinking a beer by themselves or with their friends. But with a drinking culture like this, there are bound to be some drinking rules as well – So read on to learn these.
What is the Legal Drinking Age in Texas?
As with all of the other 49 states, Texas’ legal drinking age is 21 years old and above; this means that anyone above that age is allowed to buy the alcoholic beverage of their choice and drink to their heart’s content. Meanwhile, those aged 20 and below will have to settle for other refreshing beverages that won’t get them drunk.
What is the Legal Drinking Age in Texas for Tourists and Foreigners?
Texas has attracted its fair share of tourists. They come to the state for several things, such as watching rodeo shows, to try out their cuisine, and to just experience good Texan hospitality. Anyone who wants to try out Texas’ staple of liquor should remember that they must be at least 21 and above to consume any alcoholic beverage.
Do You Need an ID to Drink in Texas?
According to Texan state law, you actually do NOT need an ID to buy your favorite liquor in the 28th state. This means that if you’re over 21 years old, you can freely purchase the alcohol of your choice at your favorite bar or liquor store. Nothing in the official state’s list of laws says that certain legal documents (meaning IDs, passports, driver’s licenses, etc.) are acceptable when buying or drinking alcohol.
Legal Drinking Age in Texas with Parents
The legal drinking age in Texas is at least 21 years old, but just like most other locations in America, underage drinking is quite rampant. Certain universities around Texas are actually known for students with a penchant for partying hard and drinking loads of alcohol, usually after exams or a university sports game. When strolling around Texas’ suburbs, you can also find some teenagers drinking their favorite liquor and having fun with their friends.
Legal Drinking Age in Texas by Region
Texas might be the biggest state in America, but it strictly follows the legal drinking age of 21. But among all of the cities and counties in Texas, it seems like one of them is known for its alcoholism – Austin, also known as the live music capital of the world, has plenty of gatherings that involve drinking among friends. There’s a reason why it’s known as “America’s booziest city”, and it’s not something to be proud of.
Can Minors Drink in Texas with Their Parents?
It is actually against the law in Texas to give alcohol to minors, even when it’s a person that they trust – Such as a parent, an adult sibling, a guardian, or just about anyone above the age of 21. Even if parents do allow their kids to chug down the liquor of their choice, they still cannot drink alcohol, whether it’s at home or in a public place.
Consequences of Breaking the Drinking Age Law in Texas
Any driver who is caught with a BAC level of 0.08% and above is considered legally intoxicated. This adheres to the Texan federal law limitations, and depending on the gravity of the situation, you could end up getting your license suspended or sent to prison. The average fine that you have to pay if caught drinking and driving is $10,000. Harsher offenses include jail time for 10 years.
Meanwhile, public intoxication is a class C misdemeanor, and getting caught doing such results in a fine of $500 and a permanent criminal conviction. If you get caught doing it again, then it becomes a class B misdemeanor, causing you to spend at least 180 days in prison and pay a fine of $2,000 minimum.
A Summary of the Drinking Age in Texas
That is everything you need to know regarding the drinking age in Texas. Despite being known for having friendly, laid-back citizens who wouldn’t mind a beer or two, the 28th US state is very strict when it comes to liquor laws, and it makes them admirable. So, if you end up here, don’t hesitate to enjoy your favorite alcoholic drink, but make sure to follow the laws as well.
I am a passionate beer connoisseur with a deep appreciation for the art and science of brewing. With years of experience tasting and evaluating various beers, I love to share my opinions and insights with others and I am always eager to engage in lively discussions about my favorite beverage.