Here is everything you need to know about the South Carolina drinking age. The somewhat conservative 8th state is known for several things, including delicious barbecue and the alcohol that goes so well with it. And if alcohol is present, then it’s only inevitable that drinking rules must be present and implemented across this state as well. So, what are these drinking rules, exactly? Read on to find out more.
Although they are primarily known for their sweet tea, South Carolina is actually one of the biggest consumers of beer in the United States. South Carolinians are said to consume 1.18 gallons of beer on average, followed by wine and spirits. But with that information, do they actually follow the legal drinking age and rules imposed in the state? Here is more information.
What is the Legal Drinking Age in South Carolina?
According to official law, anyone below 21 years old cannot consume or purchase alcohol in South Carolina. And at the same time, it’s illegal for any adult to give alcohol to anyone below that age, either or risk getting jailed (more on this later). There was a push by the authorities back in November 2022 to lower the official drinking age to 18, but this has been rejected.
What is the Legal Drinking Age in South Carolina for Tourists and Foreigners?
Even tourists and foreign visitors cannot drink in South Carolina if they’re under 21 years old. If you’re underage, then there are still plenty of things you can do around the city. For example, you can go for a walk in their national parks, swim at the beach with friends, or try out their famous barbecue spots with a glass of soda or sweet tea. You can still have fun and excitement without the aid of alcohol. But if you are already 21, then don’t hesitate to try out any of the state’s local pubs and bars because there’s a mug of cold frothy beer waiting for you.
Do You Need an ID to Drink in South Carolina?
You should be at least 21 years old to get into a bar or club in South Carolina. Not being able to produce an ID, or any legal document, such as a passport or driver’s license, means you cannot enter the establishment’s premises. There is an exception to this case; however – If you are 18 years old, you can apply for a bartending or waiter job inside a bar or a nightclub, as long as you stay sober during work hours.
Legal Drinking Age in South Carolina with Parents
Official South Carolinian law says that you must be at least 21 years old and above to be able to consume alcohol, with or without parents’ supervision and approval. The only place where minors are pretty much allowed to drink is in the privacy of their own home and without the watchful eye of the authorities. Plenty of American parents, however, have faced the problem of underage drinking and managing to enter these adult-only establishments among their kids.
Legal Drinking Age in South Carolina by Region
South Carolina’s official drinking age is 21 years old and above – Just like the rest of America, as well as some US territories. As mentioned, beer is a huge alcoholic staple in South Carolinian cuisine, and you can pretty much find it in any bar or restaurant that you go to. Of course, as a southern state, you can also chug down staples such as rum, bourbon, and whiskey. The state’s own government actually regulates the commerce on alcohol distribution, separating the whole process into three stages: Manufacturing, wholesaling, and retailing.
Can Minors Drink in South Carolina with Their Parents?
As mentioned, the only instance where minors can consume alcohol with their parents watching is at home. Places such as bars, clubs, and pubs frown upon seeing young teenagers have a drink with their parents, and they won’t let these minors in unless they’re 21 years old and above. Another exception is if the alcohol is legally purchased or if it’s part of a religious ceremony.
Consequences of Breaking the Drinking Age Law in South Carolina
The legal blood alcohol content level in South Carolina is around 0.08%. If you are caught driving with a higher BAC level than the usual amount. Then you could face imprisonment for 48 hours or one month and face a license suspension for six months. Public intoxication is also considered a serious offense there, and you could face a penalty of $100 or a month in jail.
Summarizing the South Carolina Drinking Age
That’s everything you need to know about the South Carolina drinking age, as well as the liquor laws surrounding the state. South Carolina is a laid-back state, and people there enjoy consuming alcohol as a way to relax and have fun with their pals and family members. But if you get invited to one of those gatherings, just be sure to consume everything in moderation and know your limits.
I am a passionate beer connoisseur with a deep appreciation for the art and science of brewing. With years of experience tasting and evaluating various beers, I love to share my opinions and insights with others and I am always eager to engage in lively discussions about my favorite beverage.